Interview with Anika Joy

pnb

Today we’ll be interview author Anika Joy as part of the blog tour for the release of her children’s story, Penny’s New Beginning.

About the Book

cover

Can they save Utopia?

Nine-year-old Penny Hearting has just moved to Nassau with her family, and is completely convinced that a mermaid rescued her from drowning, but no one believes her. So, she takes matters into her own hands and goes on a search for the mermaid that rescued her.

Ten-year-old Emmy is the princess of Utopia, an underwater city populated by mermaids. But, when her evil aunt, Cassandra, takes the city from her father, the King, her only option is to seek help from the girl who she rescued from drowning.

When these two lives collide, can they and another friend save their homes from disaster?

Buy on Amazon ~ Add on Goodreads

About the Author

    Anika Joy is a daughter, sister, and child of the one true King. She loves to write books, sing in choir, and bake treats for her family.  At the age of 4 she taught herself to read and wrote her first short story when she was 8. That story was later published in a kid’s magazine when she was 11, which sparked her dream of becoming a published author. She is now very happy to see that dream come true.

Anika currently lives with her two sisters, two brothers, and parents in North Dakota, and feels very blessed to be awaiting the arrival of another little sister.

Blog ~ Author Site ~ Goodreads ~ Pinterest  ~ Twitter

The Interview

If you had to tell a complete stranger about Penny’s New Beginning in one sentence, what would you say?

Umm…probably this: “Three girls need to save a magical underwater kingdom full of mermaids.” I think that would give them the best idea about what’s going on. 😉

(Or you could say, “STOP ASKING ME STUPID QUESTIONS AND JUST BUY IT ALREADY!” 😛 Okay, yeah, I’m just kidding …)

What was your writing process for Penny’s New Beginning? How long have you had the idea, did you outline or just dive in, and how long did the writing take from start to finish?

I pretty much just wrote it. I was nine and had no idea of how to prepare and plot, I just started at chapter one and came up with everything else as I went on. It was a lot easier to do then than it is to do now that I know all the principals of writing and what you should and shouldn’t do. It took me about 2 months to write this book. I was nine then and wasn’t very good at writing fast. 😛

(Hey, it took me six months to write a short story when I was ten. So … yeah. Congratulate yourself!)

Is there anything in particular you want to teach people through Penny’s New Beginning?

I want to teach people that they can save mermaids from evil queens in underwater cities ( 😛 ) and that just because someone is different from you (say, like a mermaid) doesn’t mean that they are weird. It means they’re unique. 😀

(Ah, that’s a cool theme!)

What’s your favorite kind of candy?

Uhh…I really like chocolate. So, pretty much anything that’s chocolate. I am a proud and proclaimed chocoholic. (But, haha, I’m on a no sugar or dairy diet SO I CAN’T HAVE CHOCOLATE. *dies*)

(WHAT?! No chocolate!?!?!)

What’s next after Penny’s New Beginning for you, writing-wise?

Since we are coming upon the Camp NaNoWriMo April session, I will be working on…something. I know, I seriously only have, like, eleven days until NaNo starts, but (silly me) I have no idea what I’m doing. *dies at the thought of starting NaNo with no idea of what I’m doing*

All I know is three words: YA, Fantasy, and Magic (*gasp*).

(Ah, yes … starting Camp with no idea what you’re doing … I know this feeling well!)


Well, there you have it, folks! (That was incredibly cliché, but I admit I couldn’t think of anything else to say.) Thanks for joining us today and be sure to check out the other great posts in this blog tour.

~Kellyn Roth

Follow the Tour

~March 21st~

Elle Stevens – Book Review

Grace (The Girl Upstairs) – Book Review, Spotlight, Author Interview

Sylvanian Universe Blog – Book Review, Spotlight, Author Interview

Kellyn Roth – Author Interview

~March 22nd~

Chloe – Author Interview

Sarah – Book Review, Spotlight, Author Interview

Savannah Grace – Author Interview

~March 23rd~

Josie – Book Review, Author Interview

One thought on “Interview with Anika Joy

Leave a Reply

